Refuge

September 11, 2015 at 10:21 am (Poems) (, , , , )

I saw those ships
go sailing by…

When the boat drew near
it brought a boy
with long black hair
that caught my eye
and a woman who lost
her first born son
to falling walls
and angry men.

I saw those ships
go sailing by…

I watched the boat
list hard and tip
the little boy
off from the ship
and heard the screams
and smelled the fear
of mothers washed
with salty tears.

If my waves pushed high
my current strong
I would push the listing
boat along
then dip to lift
the drowning boy
and place him on
the sand to dry.

I would land those ships
and drive the trains
and welcome people
when they came
to share the shelter
and daily bread
that is not mine
but ours instead.

And though some say
it is naive
to practice what
our hearts believe
my hand is held
by others who
would reach out arms
of welcome too.

4 Comments

  1. Björn Rudberg (brudberg) said,

    This is so timely, and so well written, I wish to reach out that hand too.. This would be a wonderful song i think

    • Julia Dean-Richards said,

      I’m glad we shared this. Whatever the reasons, these people must be so tired, stressed and afraid. I like your idea of a song x

  2. Kelley Rose said,

    well spoken and powerful. I have not had much time for writing lately but your words are filling me with muse. Thank you, you are a truly beautiful writer.

please feel free to comment on these poems - all feedback appreciated. :)

