Bean

July 7, 2013 at 1:37 pm (humour, literature, philosophy, Poems, poetry, Shropshire, Stories) (, , , , , , )

I’m a skinny greeny bean stalk in a
hectic screaming plot, with all the
madly waving grasses tying oxygen in knots.
Will you weed my rambling garden
with your trowel and a fork? Will you
catch me when I’m falling? But that garden cane
won’t work, because without my own direction and no mouth
to call my own, I am barely standing upright if you
leave me where I’m blown. It’s not a case of
undernourished or unhealthy state of mind; I’m just
unable to be stable for a longer length of time.
I don’t need that much attention, just some water
every day, if you prod me with a pruner I will
curl the other way. So if I wave in your direction
an acknowledgement will do, I’m a skinny greeny beanstalk
but I’m full of beans for you!

14 Comments

  1. annotating60 said,

    Broiught a big smile to my face.>KB

  2. Pawan Hira said,

    In a flow you spilled the beans…decorative and majestic play. πŸ™‚

  3. john said,

    “Full of beans for you?” Ouch! πŸ™‚

  4. unfetteredbs said,

    Love this. You’re light yet complex. Very good as always

  5. nobodysreadingme said,

    You do make me smile, Julia.

please feel free to comment on these poems - all feedback appreciated. :)

