Bony Boy

June 5, 2013 at 4:12 pm (humour, literature, philosophy, Poems, poetry, sociology, Stories) (, , , , )

If you live in a city you probably know
there’s a Bony Boy living where nobody goes,
he’s as thin as a match as his diet is poor
and he lives in the gap of the escalator.

He peers at your toenails, grafittis your feet
and his language is too rude to write and repeat,
his fingers are slivers that slip underneath
and he nips at your ankles with sharp little teeth.

The mean Bony Boy is a fidgety lout
with a liking for eating the things you spit out,
having crammed down misfortune and bad days and glum
he chews on the carcass of discarded gum.

Enough of my prattle, I’m surely a fool
to expect you to listen to something so cruel,
I don’t want to scare you next time that you ride
on
..the
….long
…….esca
……….lator
…………..with
……………..Bony
……………….inside.

10 Comments

  1. john said,

    This is so funny! Where ever did you get the inspiration for this? What a hoot!

    • Julia Dean-Richards said,

      Um, been on a lot of escalators lately. Our lovely Kieran is scared stiff – especially going down. Of course, I am the reassuring parent …

  2. Tanumoy Biswas said,

    Haha! Amusing read!

  3. hypercryptical said,

    Oh I know him – he has nipped at my ankles many a time. A bit hesitant stepping on and off escalators – the bit in the middle is a breeze.

    Anna :o]

    • Julia Dean-Richards said,

      Agreed. The worst was when I was little, relying on other people to pull me on and off there at the right time. Now I’m a grown-up, I have more control … don’t I???

  4. julespaige said,

    I lived in the city…perhaps I knew that bony boy?
    forgotten, lost, looking to be found. Hiding in plain slight of step movement.
    Great for illuminating imaginations…

please feel free to comment on these poems - all feedback appreciated. :)

