Vote

May 1, 2013 at 10:33 pm (history, literature, philosophy, poetry, politics, sociology, Stories) (, , , , , , )

Scritch, scritch, scratch,
there I am again
teetering
on the edge of sleep
clutching a ball point
oh Elpis
I left a message for you on a slip
inside Pundora’s box
folded inside disturbed sleep
these desperate disordered times
are too many sheep for me to count
jumping

running

 fumbling in the gloom.

Scritch, scritch, scratch,
quickly, lock me in
and I will vote for you in the morning
my children
none of them have tails
perhaps we will never be well again
docked
writing nonsenses
criss cross
dressing hurriedly
dashing in our hither thither
setting our souls on tenterhooks…

13 Comments

  1. annotating60 said,

    A bit-owhimsy do I see? Loved it!>KB

  2. unfetteredbs said,

    Hello! Love the rhythm and sounds.

    • Julia Dean-Richards said,

      Hello dear Audra, We get the chance to vote here, in local elections today. Goodness knows what the future holds.

      • unfetteredbs said,

        Ahhhh
        I am rarely happy on Election Day.
        🙂

      • Julia Dean-Richards said,

        hold on – isn’t it the middle of the night there?

      • unfetteredbs said,

        430 am and you?

      • Julia Dean-Richards said,

        9.30am – sitting in the breakfast sunshine kitchen. Not sleeping tonight then?

      • unfetteredbs said,

        Oh no I slept. Just got up at 345. Early riser. Breakfast sunshine. What a lovey image.

      • Julia Dean-Richards said,

        That’s an impressive early rise – I hope the sun smiles for you soon

      • unfetteredbs said,

        Thank you my friend. You have a smashing good day as well.

  3. Matthew Pullar said,

    I’ve nominated you for a Liebster Blogger Award. Check out my last post if you want to accept the nomination.

please feel free to comment on these poems - all feedback appreciated. :)

