Zoo for You

April 23, 2013 at 9:06 pm (humour, literature, Poems, poetry, sociology, Stories) (, , , , , , )

I need a massive elephant to hold my love for you,
let’s face it to be barking frank I need a full on zoo.
I’ll bring some pretty penguins and a dolphin and a duck,
to quack about the way I feel, I can’t believe my –

look

to do you justice honey bee, I’ll ask a roaring lion,
and forty furry monkeys and a snake I can rely on.
There’s room for rhinos, heffalumps and owls in a bush,
and huge orang-utans and spiky whatsits we can’t –

touch

I’ll introduce a growling thing with teeth and not much hair,
but keep it well away from meerkats, other cats and bear.
The dolphins all will do a flip, the seals will throw their fish,
when love’s humungous tiger grabs your collar for a –

kiss.

21 Comments

  1. annotating60 said,

    What refreshing piece this is.>KB

  2. unfetteredbs said,

    Playful and delightful

  3. john said,

    Beautiful! Stunning! Funny and sweet. Very, very nice!

  4. Sanah said,

    Aww, so sweet ! Such a cute way of expressing love. πŸ™‚

  5. nobodysreadingme said,

    Marvellous Julia. Nearly as good as Big Foot

    • Julia Dean-Richards said,

      Thought you might like this one πŸ™‚

      • nobodysreadingme said,

        Oh yes, very much indeed.
        Just so you know I have lent my copy of Snailbeach Tails to someone I trust to keep it safe, and not lose the little card you enclosed with it.
        I had no idea of her reading habits, but we have a strange understanding. I just reckoned she’d like it.
        As i did.

      • Julia Dean-Richards said,

        Part of the journey we’re all on together. Thank you indeed for sharing the story.

    • Julia Dean-Richards said,

      Missed the dandelions – too blooming chilly. I’m a fair weather wine maker.

  6. Kevin Gillespie said,

    Awwwwww That was just BEAUTIFUL Julia. πŸ™‚

  7. Susan L Daniels said,

    This was so much fun!

  8. metonymy4u said,

    love it!

please feel free to comment on these poems - all feedback appreciated. :)

