Solution

April 21, 2013 at 11:25 pm (humour, literature, philosophy, Poems, poetry, Stories) (, , , )

Choosing to withstand those baleful days
whose menace would cast aspersions
on my love for life

I will disguise the grinding of my teeth
by chomping raw pasta
for breakfast, dinner and tea,
then gaily hang waterbags on the washing line.

If, as I am pegging out,
there is laughter in the snicket,
I will believe it is with me
and belly back wholeheartedly.

In these considered ways
I will stay active,
keep my stomach lined,
confront paranoia,
and, hey ho, the flies will not bother us this spring.

11 Comments

  1. unfetteredbs said,

    and belly back wholeheartedly. Love your words as always.

    • Julia Dean-Richards said,

      bellying back right now 🙂

      • unfetteredbs said,

        Love it :). A new expression to add to my list. Have a great day. ( night? )

      • Julia Dean-Richards said,

        1.41pm here. Moderately cloudy, bird singing in a tree to the East. I’m guessing it’s early morning with you – sending smiles x

      • unfetteredbs said,

        Smiling back

  2. Sally Wakelin said,

    ***

  3. john said,

    Julia, writ with your usual grace and wit although quite different from your usual poems. I’d love to know its provenance…

    • Julia Dean-Richards said,

      hmm, maybe we Pendragons should talk about where our poems are coming from. I feel an email coming on.

please feel free to comment on these poems - all feedback appreciated. :)

