The Spirit of Accord

March 5, 2013 at 10:47 pm (history, literature, philosophy, Poems, poetry, politics, sociology, Stories) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , )

Conjoined by circumstance, we were as twins,

collective fate upon respective dials;

you docked your pirate ship inside my lines

and blocked me with uncompromising sails.

.

To square the round we drew our swords to fight,

inflicting wrath on anchored minds with spears;

decisions ground with sharp wit edged with spite,

in altercation boxed the other’s ears.

.

In case you tried to sail I slung my stones,

and what I strove to build you ran to spoil;

you flared your nostrils, stamped upon my bones,

I danced on pins to pitch my burning oil.

.

You curdled coffee with your sour grapes,

my rancid comments rattled down our time;

but now you’re gone I miss our fierce debates,

it seems as though your voice was also mine.

10 Comments

  1. john said,

    I don’t want to like this, I want to click the “I freaking love this poem” button!

    Julia, dear, brilliant! Please remember all us little people once you are (deservedly) famous for your incredible poetry.

    • Julia Dean-Richards said,

      Hi there PenDragon. Thank you for the encouragement. This is pipeline poetry – I fed it in a week ago and it has just arrived at the other end.

  2. reiterzblog said,

    Horribly close to home for me this one Julia. Brilliantly well done. As the man said, remember us when you’re famous.
    BTW di you send a copy of Snailbeach, or did you decide against it?

  3. Duncan Swallow said,

    Yeah yeah made a cockup. Yes it was I who left reiterzblog’s comments. Could have sworn I’d logged out and come back in again as NRM. Lackaday

  4. Ammon said,

    Wow. I had to read it twice. I really felt the love-hate duel here.

    • Julia Dean-Richards said,

      I think that is because the dilemma is very real to me – it is easy to run a way from stuff which is hard and potentially damaging, but maybe it is more useful to work through the challenge? Hmm.

  5. julespaige said,

    This was a week of discord.
    http://julesgemsandstuff.blogspot.com/2013/03/wwp-146-damned-either-way.html

    I will try to hold my tongue so there will be no severing…

  6. PJ said,

    Powerful stuff – I love the evocative imagery x

  7. metonymy4u said,

    fantastic, again…!

please feel free to comment on these poems - all feedback appreciated. :)

