Hand Recital

February 8, 2013 at 10:53 am (philosophy, Poems, poetry, Stories) (, , , , , , , , , , , , )

These two hands are both my boundaries and my open gate

raised up to signify life and catch my breath, and as I ponder

they take the pen to write, dipping sotto voce ink,

and hearing hidden passion with sentient finger tips.

.

How these two friends push and press and work together,

folding over dough in pas des deux parenthesis,

gathering to cup a warming brew or comb through hair,

iced blue in deep snow pockets, in summer – full red and ripe.

.

Comfortable in prayer, who would judge these anguished two

for uncommon deviation; a desperate grab in tightened times?

Ignited in knuckled protest, closing angry fists as if to fight?

Look down then to your left and to your right.

.

My industrious two return to sew and knit and thread

and wrap and cut and spread and meet and reassure

and weave between expression and caress.

And when you go they’ll wave and wipe, go mix a cake.

.

Each day they pick and pour and weigh, these two hands.

In doubt they shift and shy, but regrouping bear me up,

my loyal retainers, remaining after fair has faded,

brushing ebb and flow as time is plucked and dropped.

8 Comments

  1. nobodysreadingme said,

    This brought a tear to my rheumy old eyes, Julia.

    • Julia Dean-Richards said,

      Aw, then it was all worthwhile x

      • nobodysreadingme said,

        Strange coincidence time. This morning, before I read this post, I finally came to terms with my hands. I’ve always hated them. You know everyone dislikes something about their physical appearance? Well with me, it was my hands. Then this morning I just thought ‘Hey. They’re not that bad, really.’
        And promptly stopped fretting about them.
        Maybe that’s why this post touched me.
        Sorry, I’m babbling aren’t I?

      • Julia Dean-Richards said,

        I love hands, and have a friend who is struggling to regain use of his, following a fall. So much we take for granted.

      • nobodysreadingme said,

        They’re pretty handy to have around.
        Sorry I just couldn’t resist it.
        😦

  2. john said,

    Julia, I am so ticked! I read my poetry and I fear it stomps around like a TRex on crack. Yours has such a light deftness to it and is so sweet to the taste. Honestly, I’m just jealous.

  3. julespaige said,

    Pardon the pun, quite handily done.
    Cheers – thanks for your visits.

please feel free to comment on these poems - all feedback appreciated. :)

