The Inside

January 22, 2013 at 5:47 pm (literature, Poems, poetry, Shropshire, Stories) (, , , , , , , , , )

I have done a lot of thinking

about the inside of things.

.

Today I built a dome

one foot square

and solid snow.

.

Inside were the animals

I would have made

if the snow didn’t

get stuck on my gloves

and crumble in my hands.

.

 a moose

and a mole

.

The moose had long, strong legs

and an intelligent, wet nose.

He put his head down

into the snow

and nuzzled

until he found a piece of green,

then chewed thoughtfully

whilst contemplating the upstairs window.

He seemed surprised

that humans

have such long legs

they need windows that high up.

.

The mole poked his snowy bonce

out of the tired ground

and peered with blind eyes

upon the bright sky.

I think he was glad

I would have made him.

.

I have thought a lot

about the inside of things.

6 Comments

  1. unfetteredbs said,

    I like your thoughts Julia

    • Julia Dean-Richards said,

      and I yours Audra. Are you taking your little dog to college this weekend? I loved his picture.

      • unfetteredbs said,

        No. We will take the dog when it is warmer. It is hard to visit with the dog when it is cold. No where to take the beast 😉

  2. julespaige said,

    We finally had some snow (here) yesterday.
    I brought some inside…the kitchen
    for my grandson to play with.
    I formed little round mounds for him to squash.

    Your thinking of inside and out…is enchanting.

  3. nobodysreadingme said,

    Lovely. I very much liked this.
    and the sheer silliness of the long legs/upstairs window made me smile

please feel free to comment on these poems - all feedback appreciated. :)

