Fire

January 19, 2013 at 12:52 pm (history, literature, Poems, poetry, Shropshire, sociology, Stories) (, , , , , , , , , , )

Marking our winters together,

first up in the morning checks the embers,

so any vital signs might be rekindled.

.

Failing that, I journey out to fetch the coal,

perhaps a well seasoned cherry log, our treat,

odour – vermillion. Slipper shod round to the shed,

contemplating cold patterned leavings in the snow.

.

I consider the teeth clenched path; you warm in tangled bed,

then, lamenting the lazy left last time bucket,

slide down to empty tinker crunch ash,

playing the ice orchestra and wishing above all for wellies.

.

Darling, the clinker hill reaches the sky,

in far off spring we will push it down

to the ditch below the snow line,

between where we live and the cows.

.

Swinging up to the house to scrunch last week’s news,

I lay morning sticks crackling from an orange string bag,

then sparingly, the coal, but leave room for breath.

Striking a match I turn on the life support, a tender touch paper,

sharing the conviction that our winter child will thrive.

17 Comments

  1. nobodysreadingme said,

    Fabulous. I really like this. I can see it in my head.

    • Julia Dean-Richards said,

      good. Is it snowing there? I don’t mean in your head πŸ™‚

      • nobodysreadingme said,

        Yep. couple of inches. It’s snowing outside too.
        BTW I reblogged this. I don’t do that much, but this is so good I had to.
        Has my email arrived yet?

      • nobodysreadingme said,

        Just tried that. Lemme know what happens. If anything.
        Incidentally if there really is a winter child, congratulations
        πŸ™‚

      • Julia Dean-Richards said,

        Got it now, hurrah. The fire is our winter child πŸ™‚

      • nobodysreadingme said,

        I thought it was probably a metaphor, but just wanted to check.
        I got your email in response, ahven’t had time to read it yet. Thanks

      • Julia Dean-Richards said,

        or maybe the relationship

      • nobodysreadingme said,

        Neat either way. I liked it

  2. nobodysreadingme said,

    Reblogged this on nobodysreadingme and commented:
    I really like this. Dunno why, but I do.
    I must do mustn’t I? Not often you see a reblog on here

  3. julespaige said,

    With thanks to the link from nobodysreadingme…
    I’ve read more poets in the last two years web browsing than I ever did in or out of school or college.
    Almost reminds me of that tune called ‘Our House’ at least I think so…
    “Our house is a very, very fine house..”.the last line I think is ..”.I’ll light the fire while you place the flowers in the vase that you bought today.”

  4. julespaige said,

    Wow. Thanks for being the first person to follow my story pages for the Whirl blog. Take your time and read through the page that explains it all.

    Most folks follow my short verse site
    http://julesgemstonepages.wordpress.com/
    – that has daily observations that I started via folks on your side of the pond: http://www.writingourwayhome.com/

    Congratulations on your own publications and adventures in story telling. I haven’t gotten that far yet – being called a professional. While published a few hard copy places, and only blogging for about two years.

    I find it confusing to follow everyone I like, but I do have your site book-marked so I can visit you again, and again. Thanks again. And continued success in all you do.

please feel free to comment on these poems - all feedback appreciated. :)

