Big Foot

November 12, 2012 at 5:25 pm (literature, philosophy, Poems, poetry, Stories) (, , , , , , , , )

It paid no respect, would

not do as we said, just

kept jumping around, as if

beans worked its head. It

was only a toy, but

it thought it was real, and

was acting as though it

could think, grow and feel. We

didn’t quite know what

its next move would be if

we told it to go, so

we asked it for tea. Now it

sits down for meals, though

we know it can’t eat, but

I guess we’re quite fond of

the thing with big feet.

20 Comments

  1. J Matthew Waters said,

    i absolutely love this, clever and quick, an overall fun read.

  2. unfetteredbs said,

    fun read :0)

  3. Paula said,

    It’s five to nine, grey and cold. Thank you for making me smile and putting sunshine and warmth in my day. x

  4. writersblogq said,

    Lovely stuff, Julia. and so very funny in an understated way.

    I liked this

  5. Russ L said,

    This was fun! I thoroughly enjoyed it!

  6. atothewr said,

    This one made me laugh and smile – nice work.

  7. nobodysreadingme said,

    Had to come back and re-read this one. It really makes me smile, and the sun comes out on my world. Thanks.

  8. nobodysreadingme said,

    Reblogged this on nobodysreadingme and commented:
    I don’t often reblog, because I fret that people I don’t reblog will think I’m ignoring them. That’s not the case, honestly.
    I found this back in November, and have returned to it time after time when I need cheering up. I find it totally charming and very very funny.
    Thanks Julia. And thanks Big Foot

  9. julespaige said,

    Reminds me of Maurice Sendak and ‘Where the Wild Things Are” –
    Charming.

  10. nobodysreadingme said,

    I may be becoming obsessed by this little gem.

  11. nobodysreadingme said,

    Gotta be beans. Big Foot is full of them so more for me.

    • Julia Dean-Richards said,

      Beans it is then x

      • nobodysreadingme said,

        Arf!
        😀
        Always fun jousting with you. And my mate in the library really loved Snailbeach Tails. I know she told you this, but third party compliments always carry some weight.

  12. How to remain charmed | nobodysreadingme said,

  13. nobodysreadingme said,

    I just paid a return visit, Julia. Always makes me smile

please feel free to comment on these poems - all feedback appreciated. :)

