Empathy

November 1, 2012 at 9:38 am (literature, philosophy, Poems, poetry, Stories) (, , , , , , , , , , )

You understand when I fill my bath with acorns
and happily crunch through wash time

You comfort me when I talk to the mirror
and cry because no-one is there

You nod in agreement when I put my coat on backwards
so I don’t have to leave for the office

You accept there is a bit of my hair I never brush
because I fell out with it years ago

You are my chosen few
and I will try to understand you too.

4 Comments

  1. jamesknightbadpoet said,

    Beautiful and elegantly written.

    Been looking at Snailbeach Tails too – a project that immediately struck a chord with me, as the idea of a fantastical picture book for grown-ups was what drove the writing of The Madness of the Bird King.

    When I’ve bought a copy of Snailbeach I’ll drop you another line! James

    • Julia Dean-Richards said,

      What a lovely comment. My Snailbeach Tails website was horribly hacked last week and although a kind computer wizz got rid of the nasty stuff very quickly, it lacks images at the moment. However, today I was contacted by the libraries, wanting to buy copies, and now your comment. As usual, life throws us contrasts which make it all worth while x

  2. Odette said,

    Perfection

  3. cindy knoke said,

    You are a beautiful writer!

please feel free to comment on these poems - all feedback appreciated. :)

