Old Friends

November 7, 2013 at 6:42 pm (history, philosophy, Poems, sociology) (, , , )

We lose them, don’t we, one by one, to time or aspiration?
What seams we sew, must rip to grow: unseemly alteration.
By stealth, their tide begins to ebb, and tangled in the mortal web
they may forget or shift away from our attention – not to say
we love them less – but like the moon, a distant crescent
glanced at briefly, still in our rounded knowledge there completely.

Look in my face now I have lost some valued constant from a distant past
and find the line which holds me like a kite, and fix me to my missing moon tonight.

15 Comments

  1. annotating60 said,

    Jane, truly a beautiful poignant piece of poetry. >KB

  2. nobodysreadingme said,

    Julia, if this means what I take it to mean, I’m so sorry.

    • Julia Dean-Richards said,

      My lovely dance teacher of yesteryear died this week. It made me very sad and nostalgic. How lucky I am to have had such a lovely childhood. Friends really do mean the world to me x

  3. john said,

    As good as it is to see you post again, dear, it is sad to see the subject. I am truly sorry for your loss.

  4. unfetteredbs said,

    Lovely heartfelt piece. Sorry for your loss.

  5. Malcolm said,

    Sorry Julia. I know it must hurt.

  6. j matthew waters said,

    beautiful – sadly lovely

  7. hypercryptical said,

    Beautiful heartfelt write Julia – so sad for you.
    Anna :o]
    PS Clearing out a backlog of emails and there you were – hiding!

    • Julia Dean-Richards said,

      Thanks Anna – just lately, I have been concentrating on publishing my poetry book , ‘Seeing in the dark’, due out soon, and running a charity called Arty Party, which supports learning disabled adults to be creative – so I have missed you all. Will be back to catch up eventually :)

please feel free to comment on these poems - all feedback appreciated. :)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 337 other followers

