Limits

October 5, 2013 at 5:01 pm (literature, philosophy, Poems) (, , , )

Only when yearning takes me by the throat,
crisping my tonsils and closing my butterfly brain
to sensory distractions;

Only when the kernel sticks it’s cankered tongue
against my oesophagus, making it impossible
to utter ludicrous excuses;

and only when churning shakes my salt
into dismayed puddles, eyebrows registering ‘empty’
and my mouth a capital ‘O’;

Only then, will I unchain my curried doppelgänger,
smell mingled sweat and adrenalin, blink in her surprised light.
And with a roar now – go on, roar!

Know how fast we will be away.

10 Comments

  1. annotating60 said,

    Jane this was a well written and powerful poem. Something I went back and read outloud. Really terrific. >KB

  2. unfetteredbs said,

    YES! Love this Julia. Perfectly felt

    • Julia Dean-Richards said,

      Woo, thanks Audra. Good to see you x

      • unfetteredbs said,

        Likewise Julia. I was excited to see you in my ” feedly”. You’ve been quiet

      • Julia Dean-Richards said,

        In the big world I’ve been horribly noisy ;)

      • unfetteredbs said,

        I like that. And yet it stinks right? Oh how I crave stillness

      • Julia Dean-Richards said,

        Understood. There has to be a time and place to withdraw and recharge – even for a couple of hours. Will work on this one.

  3. john said,

    “Know how fast we will be away.” Gosh that is beautiful! It has such a Dylan-like Welsh lilt to it that makes it fall so sweetly from the tongue. Very, very nice.

please feel free to comment on these poems - all feedback appreciated. :)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 334 other followers

